h1

Scorpions??

August 20, 2009

Last night as I was in my room getting ready to go to sleep, I stepped on something large and rubbery with my bare foot.  Thinking it was just a large insect–I live on the first floor and my door is not sealed, so I have had lots of “visitors” recently–I jumped back and looked at this huge, long yellowish insect. 

At first I thought it was a centipede or something, then I saw the pinchers and the stinger-tail.  A SCORPION??!!

Palestine Yellow Scorpion/Leiurus quinquestriatus

Palestine Yellow Scorpion/Leiurus quinquestriatus

So, acting like a total girl, I screamed and ran out of the room, trying to grab the cats along the way.  My roommate came out of the kitchen wondering why I was screaming so strangely…and I told him there was a scorpion in my room and that I stepped on it with bare feet!

He immediately grabbed the BBQ tongs and went hunting in my room. 

I proceeded to inspecting every inch of my foot to make sure I didnt get stung without realizing it.  When I was shot with a teargas canister in the leg at a protest I didnt feel it until an hour later–so I was paranoid. ha.

After a few minutes I reassured myself that I wasn’t going to die and that I wasn’t stung.  Then my roommate came out of my room holding the scorpion with the tongs.

After dropping it within 10 feet of me a few times, totally freaking me out, and trying to keep the cats away from the deadly scorpion….we had to decide what to do with it.

I told him he could do whatever he wanted with it, as long as it was out of the house.  So I dont know if he killed it or not…but I hope it doesnt show up in my room again.

Since coming to Palestine in January, I have dealt with a lot of crazy things:

Israeli soldiers badly beating up my friends late at night in the streets of Ramallah.

A good friend of mine getting killed in front of my eyes in a protest against the Separation Wall in Bilín.

The Israeli invasion/massacre of Gaza in January–killing 1400 people (almost half of them women and children)

Getting treated like a terrorist at borders and checkpoints by the Israeli military.

Getting teargassed, sewage water sprayed on me, and shot with a teargas canister while nonviolently protesting the wall.

And many other horrible things resulting from the Israeli occupation of Palestine.

As much as these events upset me, I was somewhat prepared for them–they are all part of the occupation, and unfortunately these things have been happening in Palestine for decades now.

What I was NOT prepared to deal with on top of everything else was SCORPIONS coming into my room at night.  And not just any scorpion–the Palestine Yellow Scorpion, the most dangerous scorpion in the area.

The drama never ends in Palestine…if its not Israelis threatening my life–its scorpions.

One comment

  1. i just googled on “nairobi” & “scorpions” after watching a docco about the hedgehog (in the nairobi desert) that eats this yellow scorpion. i was fascinated to see that the hedgehog is not affected by being stung several times on the roof of it’s mouth as it is *immune* to the deadly venom!

    i wanted to read more about this – but found your blog instead. your story is quite hilarious. this
    scorpion you have pictured does look like the one in the documentary.



Leave a Reply

